How to Give Gifts According to the 5 Languages of Love

How to Give Gifts according to the 5 Languages of Love

Learning our partner and family’s love language is not only a great way of strengthening our relationships but is an innovative way to spoil those closest to you with gifts tailored specifically to the 5 Languages of love. You’ve had enough time during lockdown to really get to gribs with what’s important to your loved one in a way you never have before. Once you know what your partner’s language of love is, it’ll take all the guesswork out of the perfect gift (when we can start shopping for them again!). You’re welcome.

What are the 5 Languages of Love?

According to the Five Love Languages, written by Gary Chapman, we each have a “language” in the way we express and would like to receive love and affection. Chapman believes that out of these 5 languages, each person has a primary love language which speaks more deeply to them than all the others. If you’re not quite sure what your love language is or what your partner’s love language is, Dr Chapman has a quick online test you can take which will clear up any confusion. 

 These 5 love languages include:

Words of Affirmation

Chapman’s first love language refers to those who prefer to receive affection in the form of words of affirmation. This love language expresses love with words that build up your partner – people who fall into this category like being told they’re appreciated, or having their accomplishments recognised. Verbal compliments are highly appreciated by these people e.g. “wow you look amazing”, or “I loved your presentation today” or “You’ll make the business work – I know how determined you are”.

Gift Idea: 

Write your partner a meaningful note or even better write it on something they could wear! There are many small online jewellery stores that allow you to order personalised pieces such as Silvery.


Shop small-batch ethical jewellery brands at Collective & Co. and you could win a voucher worth R1500 by checking out with Payflex. First-time Payflex Pay Later shoppers also get R200 off when spending R1000 or more (use the code FLEXCO200 at the Payflex checkout). Offer valid until 7 November 2021. Love Promotions? Check out all Payflex promotions.
Shop Jewellery Styles

Acts of Service

Chapman’s second love language is for people who believe that actions speak louder than words. Unlike people who prefer to hear how much they’re cared for, those on this list like to ‘be shown’ how they’re appreciated – that means doing things you know the person would like. Show affection by performing actions to help your partner. The acts of service will require some thought, time and effort.

Gift Idea:

Make them a cup of coffee or breakfast in bed, do the dishes, take the dog for a walk, do the grocery shopping or give them an hour of uninterrupted ‘me time’. If you’re looking for a gift to go together with that “me time”, check out this wide range of delicious coffee.


The third love language is receiving gifts. Though this might appear a little more materialistic than the other love languages, people whose love language is receiving gifts enjoy being gifted things that are both physical and meaningful.

Gift Idea: 

If your partner is someone whose language of love is gifting you need to take their needs seriously. Keep notes on your phone of things they admire in a shopping centre or when they’ve said they really need something. For these souls, having you remember that perfect gift means everything. It also doesn’t have to be only for special occasions. Small (even a chocolate bar) ritualistic gifts once a week are meaningful to them.  To find inspiration, we encourage you to browse our merchant store directory.

Quality Time

Quality time is all about giving your undivided attention to the other person without any distractions. If this is someone’s primary love language, they don’t just want to be included in what you are doing – ideally this time should be all about you and them, they want to be the centre of your attention.

Gift Idea:

Buying an experiential gift would go a long way here. A trendy restaurant or a painting/cooking class to do together would be a great idea. If you are in the mood to splurge, plan a romantic weekend getaway. Check out hyperli for inspiration.

Physical Touch

Nothing is more powerful than the physical touch of a loved one for the people of this category. People who “speak” this love language simple enjoy human contact, whether it’s with a hug, spontaneous affection, or holding your partner’s hand while out in public. 

Gift Idea: 

Give your partner a coupon book to ‘cash in’ on a back or foot rub or back massage. A therapeutic massage or any spa indulgence is also a great idea. If you need the oils, rubs and tools for the job, look no further than right here at Gaia Organics.